UPFA bags CP, NWP; TNA wins North

September 22, 2013 at 8:37 pm

JVP suffers crushing defeat in all provinces UNP loses 6 seats in CP and UPFA 3 in NWP TNA takes all 14 electorates in North Govt. wins 39 out of 40 electorates in CP, NWP SF’s DP emerges third force in NWP, CPSeptember 22, 2013, 10:09 pm

By Shamindra Ferdinando

The UPFA bagged both the Central and North-Western Provinces  while the Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchi (ITAK/TNA) secured the Northern PC with  ease at Saturday’s Provincial Council polls.

President Mahinda Rajapaksa led the campaign in all three  provinces for the UPFA.

Veteran politician R. Sampanthan (Trincomalee District MP), who  spearheaded the TNA campaign is widely believed to be responsible for bringing  in former Supreme Court Judge Vigneswaran as the party’s chief ministerial  candidate.

Of the 40 electorates in the CP and NWP, the UNP managed to win  only Mahanuwara by polling 10,047 votes (44.80%). The UPFA polled 9,156  (40.83%). The ITAK secured all 14 electorates in the Northern Province (10 in  the Jaffna district and one each in Mullaitivu, Kilinochchi, Mannar and Vavuniya).The  UPFA obtained 716,247 votes (60.16%) and UNP 330,815 (27.79%) in the Central  Province comprising the electoral districts of Mahanuwara, Matale and Nuwara  Eliya. The UPFA and the UNP received 36 and 16 seats respectively in the  58-member Central PC.

The remaining six seats went to Gen. Sarath Fonseka’s Democratic  Party (2), Ceylon Workers Congress-P wing (2), Up country People’s Front (1) and  the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (1).

In spite of polling 13,887 votes (1.17 per cent) the JVP  couldn’t secure a seat in the Central Province.

At the last PC polls in the Central Province, in February 2009,  the UPFA polled 650,203 votes (59.53%) and bagged 36 seats while the UNP  obtained 422,125 votes (38.65%) to win 22 seats. Saturday’s poll saw the UNP  lose six seats whereas the UPFA managed to retain all its seats (36).

The UPFA swept the polls in the North Western Province obtaining  705,188 votes (66.43%) to secure 34 seats. The UNP polled 257,011 votes (24.21%)  to win 12 seats while the Democratic Party secured 3 seats by polling 46,114  votes (4.34%). The SLMC (2) and the JVP (1) shared the remaining seats.

The UPFA failed to retain the number of seats it had in the  previous council. At the February 2009 polls, the UPFA polled 668, 743 (69.43%)  to secure 37 seats, while the UNP obtained 270,346 votes (28.07%) and the JVP  20,428 votes (2.12%) to secure 14 and 01 seats, respectively.

Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya told The Island  that there hadn’t been serious incidents on the day of the polling, though the  Election Secretariat received a spate of complaints. Deshapriya said none of the  incidents were serious enough to warrant a re-polling and therefore all results  had been released.

At the last PC election, the Election Secretariat suspended the  Puttalam District results to pave the way for fresh election in one polling  division, subsequent to complaints of serious polls malpractices.